When Life Serves You Lemons… Make Lemon Curd

Four lemons for a Euro? I can’t resist a bargain and, although I knew there were lemons at home, I bought two packets.  It’s really not a lot of lemons until you spill them out on the kitchen table and wonder what to do with them.  I scanned through a number of possibilities and Lemon Curd won outright.  I used an easy recipe by Darina Allen for which I had all the ingredients. You can generally rely on Ms Allen for a good result.

You need

  • 50 gms butter
  • 100 gms caster sugar
  • Grated zest and juice of 2 lemons
  • 2 eggs and the yolk of a third egg (all beaten together)

 

Melt the butter over a low heat, bung in the sugar, lemon zest and juice and, finally, add the beaten eggs.  Stir for a while over a  low heat and when the mixture thickens and becomes gloopy pour it into warm sterilised jars.  From start to finish takes about twenty minutes.  The hardest part is waiting for the curd to cool down so you can eat some!

In order to help the waiting time to pass more quickly I made some plain scones and by the time these were out of the oven all the clearing up was done and the lemon curd cool enough to use.  Then, of course, I had to wait for the scones to cool so I started writing this report!  Later on I will use the egg whites to make meringues which can be served with the lemon curd.  So nothing is wasted.

Not only have I made a delicious product, it was good value too.  I priced it up as follows:-

 

  • Caster sugar                                   0.15
  • Butter                                             0.22
  • Eggs                                                 1.00
  • Lemons                                           0.50

Total                                        € 1.87

I didn’t factor in any costs for labour or fuel and I wasn’t trying to make this product as cheaply as possible either.  My yield was lower than what Darina Allen anticipated but perhaps my lemons and eggs were a bit smaller than hers.  I got about 350 mls (12.5 fluid oz) of product.  It’s disappearing so quickly that I’ll soon be making more.  Luckily I still have some lemons.

About caitrionaw

Mother, wife, dog owner. Slave, winer, diner, reader, theatre goer.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

