Alexis

Alexis Bar and Grill, in Patrick Street Dun Laoghaire, features in The Dubliner – 100 Best Restaurants and, conveniently, it was where a group of four of us dined recently. I’m not overly familiar with dining in Dun Laoghaire so it was a welcome break from the usual city centre venues. Despite all the one way systems and pedestrianised streets in the area it was easy enough to find the restaurant.

The room is quite large and ‘bistro-ish’ in appearance. There is an open kitchen at the end of the room. Unfortunately I was sitting with my back to it so I didn’t get to see all the action. We settled down to study the menu and made our choices. The set menu offered two courses for €20.00  and three for €25.00. There were also a few extra menu items offered at a special price. I ordered asparagus soup and the others ordered rabbit risotto and a goat’s cheese and beetroot crostini. The asparagus soup was nice but not outstanding. One of our group is a quite a regular diner here and always orders the risotto. I know it must have been good as there was no offer of a taste and her plate was wiped clean! The goat’s cheese crostini looked delightful, the cheese was creamy and piped onto the crostini making it look like an ice cream!

I chose my main course from the set menu – pan fried lamb’s liver with mash. Others chose from specials. There was an order for a duck dish and for a pigeon breast. I was asked how I’d like the liver done and, although I stated medium, it arrived well done. I enjoyed it nonetheless. We had side orders of summer greens – peas, mangetouts and green beans. The portion of duck was large and looked very succulent. The wood-pigeon got the thumbs up from my pal who had never eaten pigeon before.

After a good break we ordered desserts. There were four from which to choose – panna cotta with raspberries, strawberry fool, pear and almond tart and a cheescake. There were no chocolate desserts on the menu which was good news as far as I am concerned as I don’t like them. I ordered the panna cotta and it was excellently made, one of the best I’ve had in a long time and it wasn’t slathered in fruit coulis either. The pear and almond tart was light and tasty too.

We finished with excellent americanos –  they were the right size and strength  for me. They were absolutely spot on. Service was friendly, attentive and unobtrusive. I’d happily recommend a visit here but I’d advise you not to bother with the asparagus soup.

The bill for four people with two bottles of wine came to just over €160.00

The Bill.

About caitrionaw

Mother, wife, dog owner. Slave, winer, diner, reader, theatre goer.
This entry was posted in Dublin, Food, Restaurants, Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

